top of page

Electricity!

Today was fascinating because I experienced electro-acupuncture. It is very similar to acupuncture only that after the needles are inserted into the specific acupuncture points, the practitioner, through small clips and wires, attaches the needles to a device which creates continued electrical currents. I felt a tingling sensation along with mild muscle twitches. Click here to know more about electro-acupuncture!


The procedure started as a traditional acupuncture procedure. First, my doctor inserted needles in my body targeting specific acupuncture points which will help me with my stress and my hormonal imbalances. Then, she turned on a device that had multiple wires with clips on the end of each wire. Next, she put the clips in some needles and I could feel the electricity, she asked me whether the intensity of the electricity was good and tolerable, and I said yes. In fact, I loved the tingling sensations that I felt. Then she turned on a heat lamp which gave me a very comfortable and cozy feeling.



The electro-acupuncture lasted about 30 minutes. However, after 10 minutes I started to feel a slight discomfort on my left foot, and my doctor immediately lowered the intensity of the electricity. I completely felt better. After the 30 minutes, the device turned off by itself, and then Dr. Melanie retired the needles.


I certainly felt very relaxed, and I loved the tingling sensations. Next week. I am going to start with exams at my school, so I think this session will benefit me a lot regarding my stress during the following agitated week.


After two weeks, I will have my final session, and I have already felt that now I am able to control my stress. Regarding my hormonal imbalance, Dr. Melanie told me that we have to be patient until the acupuncture does all its effects on my body.


bottom of page