top of page

My Personal Project

Hello, everyone! I am an Ecuadorian, I am a fifteen-year-old girl, my name is Karen Morales, and I am doing my personal project about Chinese Medicine. Please if you are interested in getting to know me and this project more click here.



This is my first post in which I will tell you how I am going to start doing my personal project. Well the objective of my personal project is:


My objective is to learn more about the theory of traditional Chinese medicine through research and experience it in order to create a website which will have information about Chinese medicine and a blog where I will write my experience with Chinese medicine. This will promote Chinese medicine through everything I have learned, experienced, and by stating the advantages of it. Therefore, my project will motivate people to treat themselves with Chinese medicine and think about other alternatives to improve their health both physically and mentally, in a non-invasive way.


In order to accomplish my objective, I have to treat my stress and my hormonal imbalance with Chinese medicine. Therefore, last week I started to look up on the internet certificated doctors that practice Traditional Chinese Medicine in Quito-Ecuador. It was very easy to find doctors that practice TCM because there are very few in the city. However, the doctor that attracted me the most was Dr. Melanie Johnson because she has a very appealing website that has information about herself, the place where she works (TAO Wellness Center), there are videos of her treating patients with Chinese medicine, there are testimonies, photos, pictures etc. Therefore, after reading everything on the website, I was convinced that she was the best option. Later that day, I called her to make an appointment. Click here if you would like to know more about Dr. Melanie Johnson and TAO Wellness Center.


Today, was the first appointment with her, and it was marvelous. Her waiting room is amazing and very big, she has many Chinese ornaments, there is a peaceful music, and the aroma transports you to China. Well, I was asked by the secretary to fill out a detailed questionnaire asking about my family history, my previous procedure, my medical conditions, my lifestyle etc.


After filling out the questionnaire I went to the Dr. consultancy room. Dr. Melanie greeted me and she started to explain me about traditional medicine, then she asked me why I wanted to try traditional Chinese medicine, and I told her everything about my personal project. I was afraid that she might say that she won't help me do this project. But, she was very happy and excited to know that I am doing this project and that my doctor will be her.


Then, we started to talk about my stress and my irregular period. She told me that Chinese medicine will balance my hormones and it will definitely treat my stress. I was glad to hear that. Next, she started to realize the Chinese medical examination. It was very interesting and exciting to experience it. Also, Dr. Melanie was explaining the Chinese medical examination that she was doing to me because she knows that I have to become an expert on this topic, so she was helping me by giving me information.


In the medical examination, she asked me personal questions, then she took my pulse because through the pulse you can get to know the state of an organ. Then she checked out my tongue because the tongue can give the Dr. essential information about the patient's condition. Click here if you would like to know more about the Chinese medicine examination.




Then, she told me that she will make a study of my case and that at the next appointment I will have my first experience with traditional Chinese medicine which will probably be with acupuncture! I was very eager to hear that, and I am really grateful to Dr. Melanie for helping me in this important project.


Everything is going according to the plan! Now I have to start doing my investigation about Chinese Medicine and I will have my first session after one month.


I think that this will be an incredible experience in which the readers of this blog will have the opportunity to experience traditional medicine through my words and photos, and if you don't believe in Chinese medicine I think that I would make you change your mind. I hope that with this blog, people could acquire an open-mind about the alternative medicine that exists and that even though it could sound impossible it does cure people.



Join me in this exceptional experience!











bottom of page