top of page

My first experience with TCM!

Today was the first time that I experience acupuncture! (click here if you would like to know information about acupuncture) It was the most amazing and shocking thing that I have ever experienced, and I loved it.

I have to admit that I was scared even though I know, thanks to the research I made for my personal project, that needles are harmless, do not hurt and that I was in good hands because Dr. Melanie Johnson has an incredible professional background. In fact, the first needle she inserted in my head was painless, and it gave me a sense of peace and tranquility as if all my worries have been washed away.


Melanie, my doctor, as she was inserting the needles in my stomach, arms, legs, and feet, she was telling me which meridian, which acupuncture point she was targeting, and with what purpose. In traditional Chinese medicine, your body is connected with Qi (energy of the universe), the meridians, yin and yang, nature etc. Click here if you would like to know more about Chinese medicine.


I got in a state of pure peace, and the music that she put on helped me, even more, to feel relaxed. However, when she finished inserting the needles, she started to turn the needles, and I suddenly felt a current of electricity that ran all over my leg. Dr. Melanie told me that the current of electricity I felt was the QI (energy). That meant that I just felt my energy, and that was a good signal. Melanie explained to me that only sensitive patients feel the Qi in their first session of acupuncture. Therefore, I am a sensitive and receptive patient.



When she finished putting all the needles she said that I have to stay relaxed with the needles for 30 minutes. She taught me a special breathing that will help the flowing of my Qi throughout my meridians. Then, she put above my legs a heat lamp, since I incline more to be yin which means I tend to be cold than hot.


After the 30 minutes of relaxation, I was nearly asleep. Then, Dr. Melanie came to the room and she removed me all the needles. Those 30 minutes were very pleasant; I was at peace and warm. I can say that I felt renewed. I can't wait for my next session, which will probably be cupping I really hope that with traditional Chinese medicine my period will be regulated and that I will be able to manage my stress.


So far so good.





bottom of page